ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moving SUCKS

According to this, CLAY'S CD COMES OUT ON MY BIRTHDAY!!! Wow! Thanks, Clay!

On to the news. They say you find out who your true friends are when you move. Last weekend, we discovered what we suspected for some time, which is...

We have no friends.

The only moving help we receieved was from Matthew on Saturday and Sunday and Kevin's race driver, Craig, on Monday night. The rest was all done courtesy of Kevin and myself. My part was completed with three screaming children underfoot. Because of a lack of assistance, everything fell behind schedule and we didn't get completely moved until Wednesday morning, the day we were to close.

I'm still feeling quite bittersweet about leaving my house. That was our home. It was the only house the kids have ever known and they don't seem to understand that we aren't going back. Jameson keeps asking me, "Today are we going home? I want to go back to my yellow house!"

Poor kid.

Wednesday morning, I cleaned the last of our belongings out of the house and gave everything a touch-up painting and vacuuming. I dropped a load of stuff at the apartment, then went back to the house to clean out the fridge. (It was in our contract that they get to keep it.) When I walked in, they had been there. The new people, that is. They had come in through the unlocked garage door and had already started moving things in. They had fast food all over the counter tops, they had already plugged in their phone (my number hadn't yet been disconnected) and they had trampled all over the carpets we had just had cleaned. I went to the back of the house to see if I had left anything and discovered that they had thrown a bunch of stuff onto the plant wall next to the tub in the master bath. I had spent half a day painting that wall so it was perfect for them, and they managed to fuck it up with the first thing they moved in. There were big, black gouges on the drywall. I cried.

I walked through my house one last time and remembered all the good times. I had such a hard time walking out of that place for the last time. It was espeically hard knowing these weird new people had already made themselves at home before I had a chance to say goodbye. I felt as though I had been robbed. We drove by today to pick up a box of stuff I had forgotten in my dismay, and saw how badly they're treating our house. They cut the lawn so short, it's burnt to a crisp. In keeping with the rest of the neighborhood, they didn't bother to trim. They had an old Cadillac leaking oil all over the driveway and dogs all over the place. They'll fit right in.

The most difficult part of the move had to be the fact that we'd been having record high temps. The weekend we moved, it was over 100 degrees each day. The heat index was a buck sixteen. I despise heat and don't function well in it. We had to stop and take many breaks for fear we might collapse and fried like an egg on the driveway.

Finally, we're all settled. The apartment is unpacked and we're all adjusting. This place is small, but we're making do. We're tripping over each other, but in some ways, this apartment is more effecient than the house was. The kitchen has far more cabinet space and the closets are huge. My biggest gripe has got to be the laundry. There's a laundry facility three buildings away. I have to wait until Kevin is home to watch the kids, then I haul a load at a time to the washers, spend a dollar a load each to wash and dry, then haul it back to the apartment and start again with a new load. The laundry room isn't air conditioned, so however hot it is outside, it's a good ten degrees hotter inside. At least it's only temporary.

Our new house is a hole in the ground with a rock foundation. I hope they get a move on and get it built quickly.

I'm going to end this here, as I've developed quite a headache. Have a good weekend and I'll update again soon. Be sure and check out my previous entry! Cool as hell!

11:22 a.m. - 2003-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: