ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My trip, a day at a time!

Soooo.. you want to hear about my vacation, huh? In a word ~ HEAVEN! It was wonderful. I wish it could've lasted longer, but I'm happy to be home with my guys. I missed them terribly. I missed my computer and my diary, as well. I never realized how much I came to rely on writing on a daily basis.

I'll try to remember everything I did each day, but forgive my memory ~ there may be alot already forgotten. If you're bored by details, this isn't the entry for you. It'll be long and tedious, I'm sure, but I like to have my trips chronicled, so this is as much for me as it is for your "entertainment".

SATURDAY:

I kissed my babies goodbye and went through security like a breeze. I didn't have to show ID or even my e~ticket to the skycaps. Hmmm. They got my flight number and printed me a boarding pass at curbside check~in. It was painless, but I would have gladly been inconvenienced for a little more security. I only got slightly misty~eyed when waving good bye to the boys.

My flights were smooth and eventless. I had a brief stop in Albuquerque and arrived on time at LAX. Mom and Kaye (my aunt) were waiting. We rode in Kaye's new truck down to Orange County, where we had lunch. We had the best chili and spaghetti I'd ever had. After lunch, we went to the mall where I had my eye exam. I chose new frames that fit the shades I already have. With dilated eyes, I felt my way around the mall for awhile while Kaye and mom shopped. I bought a pair of shoes which mom eventually stole from me (I told her she could have them ~ they ended up being too big). In case you're wondering why I go all the way to southern California for eye exams and new glasses... my mom took me for an eye appointment once a few years ago because I'm too stubborn to go on my own. Now everytime I go back, it's sort of a tradition. Plus mom gets all kinds of discounts at LensCrafters. Anyway...

After that, we went to Kaye's storage locker where she had some more of Murray's clothes to give to Kevin. For those of you just joining us, Murray was my aunt's long~time boyfriend who died suddenly at the age of 42 of an embollism the last time I was out visiting. Murray was a big guy like Kevin, so Kaye has generously offered Murray's clothing.

We hung around mom's house for awhile, then we went to Sizzler for dinner. Kevin scared the shit outta me when he called my cell phone during dinner. He only let the phone ring a couple of times before he hung up. When I called him back, he sounded breathless and upset. He told me he'd been trying to call me at every number he had ~ my cell, my mom's cell (which we never heard ring) and my mom's house. I panicked and asked him, "WHAT'S WRONG?!" He asked, "Where is the stopper to the air mattress?" I said, "You stupid motherfucker!" I thought it was a life and death emergency. Jesus Christ. He knows I worry for a living. I could have strangled him for scaring me!

Saturday night, mom, Kaye and I watched Trading Spaces and other various decorating shows. I slept like (as Evan would say:) a "dead pig".

So as not to make this too long, I think I'll save Sunday's events for another entry.

I had such a good time on this trip! I can't wait to go back!

1:17 p.m. - 2003-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: