ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More trip details!

I'm still trying to get used to being back on a schedule and get back into the swing of things. I'm still very much on pacific time, so getting up when the kids do is a bitch. I forgot to have Evan do his homework and I damn near forgot to send him to the bus this morning. I feel like more of a scatterbrain than ever!

Here are more trip tales:

SUNDAY

Still on central time, I awoke at 4:00am. Not able to figure out how to turn on the TV/Dish at mom's house, I sat in bed and re~read my People magazine until mom's fat~assed cat howled at me to feed him. I managed to convince him it was not my "yob" to feed his fat ass. I took a shower to kill some time and managed to wake everyone up with my hair dryer.

Kaye went to practice her religion (play Bingo) and mom and I went to Denny's to eat breakfast. I had major, major anxiety about picking Kevin up at LAX alone. LAX thoroughly perplexes me. I had convinced mom to go with me and we would just take her back home (to Orange County) afterwards. We came up with a better plan. Kevin took the airport bus to Disneyland, which is just a hop, skip and a jump from mom's house.

It was great to see Kevin again, but it was a little weird not to have the kids along. Mom took us to lunch at Mimi's Cafe, where I ate my usual Thai Chicken Wraps with spicy peanut sauce. We dropped mom off at home, loaded up my suitcases and hit the road.

I called Dana (my SIL) to let her know we were on our way to see them. We stopped off at the church where Kevin and I were married, St. Nicholas Church in Encino. Kevin wanted to see his parents' final resting place and to make sure they had spelled his father's name plaquard correctly. They had. The church is right around the corner from Trevor and Dana's house. Kevin fell in love with their new place. I did too, when I first saw it last year. It's so cute and would be perfect for us (except for the pool). We visited for awhile ~ Kevin and Trevor talked business and Dana showed us the DVD made of their wedding. I especially loved seeing the part where their friend, Julia sang "All the Way" to them. It made my cry at the wedding and it made me cry again Sunday! It was so beautiful.

It was weird hearing Kevin and Trevor talk shop. I never thought "Mr. Computer" and "Mr. Car" would ever have anything in common. They do now. In fact, Trevor and Dana told Kevin that when Lev (Dana's dad) retires, he plans to give them his body shops and any others he may acquire between now and then. When that happens, they'd like Kevin to move out there and run one of the shops for them. It would be a great money making opportunity for us. Because of this, Kevin is quite anxious to move back to southern California. If we could get GM to move us back and the move wouldn't cost us anything, then Kevin could be ready to work for Trevor when/if the time comes. If it all falls through... oh well. We'd be in southern California where we want to be anyway.

We left Trevor and Dana's and headed to the condo. The weather there was extraordinary. It was more clear than I've ever seen it there. We checked into the condo and watched a gorgeous sunset from the balcony overlooking the ocean. The island view was clear and unadulterated. We went out to dinner at Souplantation, which we were surprised to learn is the same company as Sweet Tomatoes, a place we frequent here in St. Louis. We drove past our old house in Camarillo, which looks as bad as ever. The people who bought the house from us have let it go to total and complete hell. We picked up some soda at the grocery store on the way home. We were both exhausted so we went to bed early.

I understand the the management group handling our condos is in financial decay. It's evident in the lack of upkeep in our building. Oh, it's still quite nice but there are some problems that need to be addressed promptly, not the least of which are new matresses! Christ, the beds were awful. The one in the loft was even worse tha the one in the master. It looked like this: ~v~

It had a big dip in the middle that we kept rolling into all night. It was strange not having a child or two wander into bed with us all night. We called home to check on the kids. All was well. Griffin was being perfect for them and was sleeping through the night. The boys were being well~behaved and not giving Matt and Stephanie any trouble. I was relieved.

More next time!

9:46 a.m. - 2003-04-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: