ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recalling more of my trip

I may need to add more than one day of my trip at a time ~ I'm starting to forget things already! Okay, we continue with:

TUESDAY:

Finally, it's Dorothy's day! Dorothy's Cafe has the best salsa in the whole entire world. They won't tell me exactly how it's made, but they will tell me what gives it it's flavor is V~8. V~8!! I hate V~8, but I love this damn salsa. After we ate, we drove down our old street again. Blecch. Our old house looked even worse in broad daylight. The people who bought it from us should be shot on sight. We noticed that the house across the street was for sale. They have the same floor plan we did, but it appeared from the street that they'd added a room onto the back. We called the number on the sign (it was listed for sale by owner) and left a message for them to call us back.

We went to Target for a few things (they had Krispy Kreme lotion! I bought a big bottle of it!) The owner called us back while we were shopping. She explained that the house had been newly remodeled and that they had added a family room. There was now over 1,500 square feet, whereas before there was 1,164, like our old place. She said that our old house had everyone in the neighborhood upset, because the place was such as eyesore. We told her we were embarrassed to admit that we used to live there. It was in great shape when it was ours. Anyway, she told us what they were asking for their house...

!!!!!!!!! $412,000 !!!!!!!!!!

I hope you were sitting down for that! She said they were in the process of listing with an agent. I thought maybe the agent would clue her in on what a ridiculous price that was, but that's the price he, the realtor, chose evidently. Can you believe, this place is worth that much? Infuckingsane!

Why oh why did we sell when we did?

When we were done shopping, we walked through it. $412,000 for a house that:

A) needed to have the eaves painted

B) needed shutters

C) had NO backyard (courtesy of the added family room)

D) is 50 years old

E) has NO closet space

F) has only two dinky bedrooms

G) has the original 50 year old appliances

H) has a deteriorating wood fence

I) has a big utility pole in the backyard

Why did we sell? WHY? Our house would be worth even more, because ours had all the updates we added, as well as a third bedroom. *SIGH*

Oh well. We then went to Baja Fresh for lunch. If you're unfamiliar with it, allow me to explain. Baja Fresh is a Mexican fast food place where everything is freshly and healthily prepared. Nothing is canned, microwaved or deep fried. It's wondermous. We sat outside and enjoyed the absolutely glorious weather. Everyday was sunny, breezy and in the low 70s. I couldn't have asked for better weather. It was sheer Heaven.

With our evening plans in mind, we went to Presto Pasta for dinner to take home and eat later. if you're unfamiliar with Presto Pasta, allow me to explain. Presto Pasta is a fast food Italian place with the best chicken picatta and the best puttanesca sauce on earth. We each ordered chicken picatta and took it all back to the condo to eat later.

One bad thing about being on the west coast in having to wait for TV shows to start. I hated sitting and waiting for American Idol to start, knowing that everyone else in three times zones had already seen it. We warmed up our yummy dinner and sat down to watch the show. As usual, Clay was brilliant. Even Kevin admits Clay has gorgeous green eyes. What a life... sitting in front of the open door, chicken picatta in my lap, the ocean breeze at my back, Kevin at my side and Clay singing in my ears. Can life get any better? Well, yes. Clay at my side, singing in my ears. Anyway...

Can I do Wednesday later today? I have some things to do around here. I'll be back later. Wednesday was kind of a sad day and I don't have the time to go into it now. See ya soon.

9:10 a.m. - 2003-04-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: