ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Commentary

I planned to put this in my other diary, but for some reason, I can't get anything but the background to show up. Great. Another Diaryland glitch.

Disco night on American Idol. I for one, enjoy disco. Yes, you read that right. Yes, I am the same girl who followed the teachings of Steve Dahl in the late seventies by stacking and igniting piles of disco records. Now that I realize how incredibly stupid that was, I can appreciate disco. It's not something I would want to listen to 24/7, but I can tolerate it.

Anyway, here's my commentary.

Good riddance to Corey. I've never liked him. I never thought he had the talent to participate in this contest. I hate the way he looks and I hate his dunce~like personality. I grew weary of hearing him butcher the English language. I knew there was something about him that just wasn't right.

RICKEY ~ I think his time has come to get the boot. I believe this will be the week he's voted off. Even though in theory, he has the high range voice to successfully pull off an Earth, Wind and Fire tune, it came out sounding forced and breath-y. I thought the fro~throw was cheesy. I knew as soon as I saw that thing atop his head he would toss it midway through the song. I think he's done this week.

KIMBERLY C. ~ I wasn't at all crazy about this performance, either. Her deep, manly voice is starting to irritate me. I don't think she'll do well this week, either. She was so far off, I cringed.

CARMEN ~ Okay, I may be in the minority on this, but I thought Carmen sounded great. She hit every note perfectly and put alot of energy into it. I think she is so adorable. I hope she goes far.

KIMBERLEY L. ~ It's funny, she started off awful. The first verse she was out of breath, out of range and off key. Then it's like she was hit with a bolt of lightning and she sounded great. I think she's safe again.

JOSH ~ Oh, poor Josh. He sounded absolutely pathetic. He knew it, too. I don't know if he wasn't feeling well or was upset about Corey (*Snort*) or what, but he was not good. Simon told him if he sang like that at his audition, he never would have been asked to continue and I agree. I hope he gets through, because everyone is entitled to an off~night. He is so Goddamn cute!

TRENYCE ~ Hmmm... I wasn't as impressed with her as I was in the past. It just did nothing for me. I hate the hair, too. Blecch. I think she'll be safe, but barely.

RUBEN ~ Okay, here'll be another unpopular opinion... Ruben is good. He should get a recording contract. He can sing. He'll be a star. But...

He is not the American Idol. I'll tell you why. First, he has absolutely no personality. He just stands there, blank as a sheet of paper. He doesn't seem like the brightest crayon in the box and I'm growing quite tired of the "area code" attire. Get a wardrobe already! The biggest reason why I don't think he should be the American Idol? This is an image~based contest and no 400~pound man should win that type of contest. Sorry. That's how I feel. How is it Simon can tell a 140~pound girl to "lose a few pounds" but Ruben, who's so morbidly obese he can barely walk across the stage without getting winded, gets a pass. Is Simon afraid of him? How could Ruben dance across a stage under hot lights for two hours seven nights a week when he goes on tour? He wouldn't be able to do it. Simon was quoted as saying Clay should win this contest, then last night he told Ruben he should win. Which is it?

I don't have a thing against overweight people (Have you seen me lately?) Unfortunately, big people are the last minority that can still safely be ridiculed without a rights~group coming to their rescue. I think the overweight are the most shabbily treated people in the world, next to the mentally ill. But as far as this contest goes, image is important. Please forward all hate mail to me directly at the e~mail address listed and keep my guestbook and chatbox unadulterated, nnkay? Thanks.

CLAY ~ My wonderful beautiful sweet Clay. I LOVE the shirt ~ too fuckin' cool. I love the hair, too. Well, face it, I love the whole deal. As far as his singing... awesome! Again, he was flawless. I'm not just saying so because I'm head over heels in love. I really think he sounded exquisite. Randy and Paula thought so, too but...

WHAT THE FUCK IS SIMON TALKING ABOUT?! I sat waiting for him to say, "April Fool". I don't know how he seriously could have said what he did. I was stunned. Kevin was too. I know things sound different live than they do on TV, but please. I hope Simon goes back through and watches each performance and sees his error in judgement. Clay blew everyone away without a doubt. This is the first time I've disagreed with Simon.

I had to run out to the store right after the show ended, but I got back about an hour later and voted non~stop. I got through about 150 times. I hope it helped! I think Clay is still safe, but I'm nervous.

I re~organized two closets yesterday and cleaned out under my bathroom sinks. I filled up an entire trash can with shit like broken curling irons, a bottle of Phillips Milk of Magnesia that expired four years ago and a pick from back in my perm days. I cleaned and disinfectected everything and got it all seperated into drawers. I'm impressed with myself! I'm going to try to so some more of it today. I'd like everything to be perfect before my trip.

I'll keep you informed!

GO CLAY! LOVE YA!

7:59 a.m. - 2003-04-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: