ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A bunch of babbling nonsense...

Yes, you're getting yet another entry from me. I'm in a writing mood today, I guess. Kevin is up in Iowa with Craig and the kids are finally asleep. I just cleaned the kitchen and folded some laundry, but I don't feel quite like heading for bed just yet.

I can't get the people who bought our house out of my mind. What's up with these weirdos? I mean... we gave them a refrigerator that was less than six months old, a patio set that was even newer and had the carpets cleaned for them. I worked my ass off painting every wall in the house, not to mention weeks worth of cleaning. Did we get so much as a "thank you"? No. We got nothing. Every time we encounter these people, they get more and more unsocial. I'm not sure what they have against us or why it matters so much to me, but they're so Goddamned unfriendly, it's unbelievable. Typical COTR members. I guess I need to get over it.

One thing I've noticed living here in the apartment, is how friendly everyone is. Everyone is polite, kind and courteous. I set a bag of trash outside my front door tonight to take out to the dumpster. I sat down to put on my shoes and by the time I opened the front door, less than a minute later, someone had come by and taken the trash out for me. In my old neighborhood, they wouldn't take out their own fuckin' trash, let alone someone else's.

There are plenty of things about this place I really like and only a few little things I don't. That'll make it easier to live here for however many months it takes to get our house built.

THINGS I LIKE ABOUT THIS APARTMENT:

~ There's so much to do! In addition to the pool, there are tennis courts, volleyball courts, a playground, a putting green and barbeque grills everywhere, some with covered patio areas

~ It's neat, clean and well maintained

~ The kitchen has tons of storage space

~ The walk-in closets are huge

~ There's brand new carpet and vinyl

~ We don't pay for water, trash, sewer or cable

~ We're close to shopping and restaurants

~ We're seven minutes away from Kevin's office

THINGS I DON'T LIKE ABOUT THIS APARTMENT:

~ There's no water pressure

~ The shower has a "low flow" head

~ The family room is tiny. It's smaller then the master closet and pantry in the house we're building

~ The air conditioner makes a rumbling sound, like a washing machine

~ The laundry room is to hell and gone from here

~ Laundry is $2.00 a load to wash and dry

~ Someone keeps parking in my assigned covered parking space

~ Our bedrooms are both too small to set up Griffin's bed, so he has to sleep with us

~ The cable sucks and has a crappy picture

~ There aren't any blinds covering the long narrow window next to the front door, so when I come downstairs, I need to make sure I'm decent

~ The rent is $810 a month, which comes to about a dollar a square foot

But I guess we could have done worse. I tell myself it's only temporary, but part of me is still convinced the house deal could all fall apart and we'll be stuck in this place forever.

Oh, one other good thing about this place (hehehe... ) is that the nearest cross street is called:

Clay Street!

Now, I'm tired. I go to bed, nnkay?

11:46 p.m. - 2003-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: