ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Linda, the accused...

Ibe sig. I veel ligh total and complede shid!

Translation for those of you who don't read Sickenese... "I'm sick. I feel like total and complete shit!"

Whatever Jameson brought home from school with him, I've caught. I feel like I've been hit by a Mack truck. Days like this, I sure wish Grandma lived nearby to take the kids for me. At least we have a long weekend coming up during which I can get some rest.

Twice yesterday, I was accused of stealing. Twice! I've never stolen anything, nor have I ever been accused of it, but yesterday, I was grilled twice.

I dropped Jameson off at school, then went up to Wentzville to the big WalMart there. First, I popped into Deals to look around. Griffin is going through this terrible twos independancy crap and refuses to sit in a shopping cart. If I let him walk, he heads straight for bottle displays or oncoming traffic in parking lots. After my battle with him about whether or not he sits in a cart (I won), I took off my sunglasses and shoved them into my pocket. A nearby employee saw and approached me. He said, "What did you just put in your pocket?" I told him, "My sunglasses... " He said, "Can I see, please?"

I was humiliated. I mean... if I were on a quest to steal merchandise, would I be in a dollar store, for one thing, and would I take along a sqwalling brat, for another? I'm not experienced in the art of shoplifting, but I suspect drawing attention to oneself in such a manner would not be the best strategy. I also would have worn a roomier pair of shorts, rather than the skintight denim pair that I could barely fit my hand into.

I showed him my sunglasses, which are prescription clip ons (yes, I'm a geek) and he apologized. In hindsight, I wish now I had left the store and called the manager to complain. Instead, I resumed shopping and even bought a couple of things.

Afterwards, I left to visit the WalMart next door. Because Griffin was continuing to be a rabid bat swarming the hinges of hell, I stopped off at the snack bar and bought two small bags of cookies in an attempt to appease him while I shopped. It worked and I was able to get quite a bit of shopping completed.

I waited in a checkout lane, then placed my merchandise on the belt. I still had the two bags of cookies in my hand. The cashier held her hand out, as if I needed to hand her what I was holding. I asked her, "What?" She said, "You need me to ring those up for you?" (As if I'm so absentminded, I forgot to put them on the belt - I am that absentminded, but... never mind) I told her, "Oh, I paid for these in the snack bar." She said, "Do you have a receipt?" I informed her that I wasn't offered a receipt. She said, "Then I'll have to call over there and ask if you paid for them."

She picked the wrong day to fuck with me. I then told her, quite loudly, "YOU'LL DO NO SUCH THING! WHY WOULD I STAND ON LINE FOR FIFTEEN MINUTES, BUY $61 WORTH OF GOODS, SO THAT I COULD LIFT TWO 58 CENT BAGS OF COOKIES?!?! AND IF I DID, WHY W0ULD I LEAVE THEM IN MY HAND IN PLAIN SIGHT?"

She agreed then that it did seem a tad ridiculous.

WTF was it all about, I wonder? Did I have a look about me that indicated I was a shoplifter? After all these years of shopping experience? I realize shoplifting is a serious problem and measures need to be taken in order to put a stop to it, But humiliating paying customers when no evidence that a crime has taken place, is far worse than the merchant losing $1.16, in my opinion.

Dammit, now I'm mad again just thinking about it.

I'm going to go rest my aiken ... I mean achin' head. Dammit.

9:23 a.m. - 2003-08-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: