ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm spent...

Whew. I am totally and completely exhausted. What a busy, hectic and eventful few days we�ve had. First, there was the deal with the computer. We found a place that would install 32 bytes of ram for only $29.95. They actually were able to fix it while we waited, but we were on our way to run errands and had the kids with us, so we left it with them. We got our ram installed and everything runs alot quicker now. My next chore will be to call the cable company and have them come and install my cable based internet, although with the luck we�re having with our digital cable... I�m not sure I want anymore to do with these people. More on that later...

Jameson has had a horrible bronchial cough. It�s so deep, it hurts just to listen to it. Griffin has one too, though not nearly as bad. I�ve been loading them both up with cough syrup and it�s at least allowing them to sleep fairly well.

We went to Sam�s Sunday after we dropped off the computer, where Jameson proceeded to puke up an entire chocolate cookie all over himself, the shopping cart and me. I think it was because his little belly was so full of snot, he couldn�t put anything else in. So I had to shop with chocolate colored puke all down the front of my pink shirt.

We returned Sunday evening to find that our newly installed digital cable was on the fritz. Speaking of Fritz... well, I�ll say more about that in a bit. When we first got the cable installed, I assumed there were alot of channels we didn�t get. That wasn�t the case. We do get them, they were just out at the time. Sunday night, they were all out. Wanna know something? They�re still out!!! Three days later! We�ve called and called complaining and we hear every excuse in the book. They blame it on the weather, of which we�ve had none. They blame it on the construction at the entrance to our subdivision. We were told three times it would be back �by this evening�. Finally, this morning, we called and said, �Come get your equipment.� They practically kissed our asses by telling us we could take ten dollars a month off our bill if we just bear with them and not cancel. We decided that was okay. We can still switch the cables in back of the box around to where we get the basic 78 or so channels, but I really miss my digital music. Especially since...

My computer can�t play Cds. Ever since we got it fixed, everytime we pop in a CD, either for me to play music or for Evan to play a game, I get an error message telling me the CD isn�t loaded. *Sigh* If it isn�t one fucking thing it�s another.

Our deck and fence are 90% finished. All they have to do is build a gate on the fence and build the stairs to the deck. It looks awesome and smells sooooo good. We bought cedar and I�m glad we did.

Okay, about the Fritz thing. Yes. Larry looks exactly like Fritz Coleman. Exactly. Every single time we go out anywhere, at least one person stops him and asks if he's Fritz Coleman. Everyone at Trevor's wedding though I had gotten myself a date with channel 5's favorite meteorologist and aspiring comedian. I think it's kinda cute. I had a link to post to show the non-southern Californians among you how much alike they look, but I lost it when I copied this entry. Whoops. Another day, perhaps.

Now for the news on Kevin's dad.

Monday night, I got a call from Kevin�s sister, who never calls me. I knew she had to have been calling with bad news. She told me that Mack (Kevin�s dad) was in the hospital. He came down with pnuemonia out of the blue and was in pretty bad shape. They wanted everyone to be aware that this might be the end. She kept referring to him in the past tense, so I knew he was probably in grave condition. I told Kevin when he came home and he said he wasn�t surprised. He said he had talked to him Friday, on his birthday and he sounded horrible. He was shaky, disoriented and was complaining of being weak and dizzy. Saturday, they hospitalized him and diagnosed him with pnuemonia. He was suffering from dementia and was combative. I bet he was glad to finally let go. I can�t imagine how scared he must have been, and how uncomfortable. It�s hard enough not being able to breathe without not knowing where you are and what people are trying to do to you.

Yes, Stacey - he had a wonderful life! Not many people live as long as he did and have accomplished all he has. I�ll have to ask Kevin about all his dad has done. Maybe I�ll make an entry of it another time. I know one of the coolest things he did was to play on one of the first major league baseball teams in the 1920s. He was a catcher.

At least Kevin�s normally uncooperative sister had the presense of mind to agree with Kevin that they should put off holding any kind of service for him until after the first of the year. There�s no way people could find airfare this time of year. Even with bereavement fares, airline tickets would be outrageous, if you could even find a seat available. Many people who would like to attend his funeral will already be travelling for the holiday and Kevin simply can�t give up any of his Santa jobs. We desperately need the money. So any service for Mack will be sometime in January. He was creamated today. I�m sure his ashes were placed in the church he helped build, alongside Kevin�s mother, who passed away almost eight years ago.

I�ve been making and taking phone calls all day long, as well as trying to catch up on my e-mailing and ebay auctions. I bet the phone rang a hundred times today. I�m flat exhausted. I�m going to cut and paste this into an entry, then I�m taking a hot bath and going to bed.

Thanks to those of you who expressed sympathy in my chat box or in e-mails. I truly appreciate it.

So long, Mack...

William Lafayette �Mack� McCurdy - December 13, 1905 - December 16, 2002

8:04 p.m. - 2002-12-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: