ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Hate Winter/Snow Sucks

Help me remember that I can never take my children to restaurants, nnkay? Monday night, Kevin and I were both too dysfunctional to cook so we decided to go out. I was hoping this meant that we could go get something and bring it back. Kevin suggested we go try this new Vietnamese buffet that just opened. I really had a bad feeling about taking the kids out. Something told me we'd regret it.

We did.

First, this restaurant was so hot, I almost passed out. I bet it was close to 90 in there.

Jameson ran like a prisoner set free as soon as we got in. They brought out a high chair for Griffin that was manufactured in 1969 and likely hadn't been cleaned since then, either.

Kevin took the boys up to get them some food and Jameson couldn't resist touching every damn thing in the place - food, dishes, chairs, other people... you name it, he put his hands on it.

Griffin would not stop kicking his high chair leg throughout dinner and it was driving me insane. Nothing I tried got him to stop.

Evan joined in on the "fun" by dumping his drink all over the place. He kept stirring and stirring it. I told him, "You don't need to stir that. If you don't stop dicking around, you're going to sp"

That's all I got out before he dumped a 32 oz. Sprite all over the table. He asked for another one and I told him no. My rule is, if you spill it while fucking around, you don't get it refilled. Had it been an a genuine accident, I would have gotten him another. So he proceeded to sulk. I don't think I got to take three bites of anything what with having to try to stop Griffin's lead foot and keeping Jameson from standing in his chair harassing the patrons behind us.

What little I did it wasn't very good and certainly wasn't Vietnamese. It was standard issue Chinese like you get anywhere in town and a horrible selection of that. I was so disappointed. I could hear some of the people in the restaurant talking about how the kids were behaving. That's always fun to overhear. One of these days I'll learn A) that I really don't care that much for Asian food - I go because Kevin likes it and B) DON'T TAKE THOSE HEATHENS INTO RESTAURANTS!!

We made up for it last night by bringing Chili's home for dinner. It was MUCH better and the kids could behave however they wanted because they were at home.

We got our first snowfall last night. In fact, we're still getting snow now. It's only about two inches so far, because the ground is still pretty warm. The morning traffic was a disaster. We had our carpets cleaned this morning. They called at 7:45am and said they were on their way. I loaded the kids up in the Monte Carlo to take them out of the house so they wouldn't be underfoot. It took me twenty minutes to get to our nearest cross street. Traffic was so backed up and there were more cars off the road than on. I hadn't had breakfast, so I drove to McDonald's to get a sandwich and some juice. People were sliding off the roads left and right. The roads weren't bad, but as usual, people were driving like it was summer. After we ate, I called Kevin to ask if they had finished cleaning the carpets yet and he said they hadn't even gotten there yet!! Not only that, it was 9:50am and Evan's bus hadn't gotten there yet, either. Kevin took him to school and was told by the principal that they underestimated the snow and they realize now they should have closed. He said hardly anyone was there. When he got home, I realized that a little girl (she's seven) who lives in the cul-de-sac was standing on the corner waiting for the bus... still!! She had been there since 8:45am - almost two hours. Her stupid mother had left her there to catch the bus, then drove on to work! This poor little girl would've frozen to death. I was hesitant to say anything to her, because I realized there wasn't much I could do. She may not have spoken to me, since she doesn't know me and most certainly wouldn't have allowed me to take her to school. I walked outside with my cell phone thinking I could call her mother at work for her and ask her what she wanted me to do (if anything). Just as I got to her, a neighbor called her inside. I can't believe anyone would be so stupid as to allow a small child to catch a bus alone on a day like this! The bus finally came down the street at 10:35am. It remains to be seen how late the buses will be this afternoon. I can't pick Evan up because I left the kids' car seats in the Monte Carlo (which is at work with Kevin). I couldn't drive the van in the snow anyway, since the wipers still aren't fixed.

Anyway, the carpet cleaners finally got here. They had been stuck behind an accident. The carpets look awesome and I wish they'd stay that way for more than a week. They're still damp and the furniture is up on pads.

I feel alot better today, with the exception of my cough which is still alive and well. My... "other problem" is all cleared up, as well. Ain't bein' a woman grand?

Remind me to bitch tomorrow about ebay feedback.

Be sure to catch it.

Linda, the winter/snow/cold hater

3:13 p.m. - 2002-12-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: