ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

News!

Heather reminded me that I forgot to mention what color we chose for our roof. Welll.... we originally chose a dark gray called "thunderstrom gray". In addition to this being a name I feel is inappropriate for a roof (does it attract more hail and lightning than the average roof?), I also think, after seeing some other houses with similar color combos, that the house would look better with a sandy taupe colored roof. Don't worry ~ I haven't changed my mind about brown shingles. This is a gorgeous shade of taupe and matches the siding and trim perfectly.

Okay, onto Sunday we go...

It was the day of our open house. I got up and showered and gave the house a good, thorough tidying.

Kevin and I got into another fight about when to hang up the directional signs. He wanted to go right out at 10:00am and stuck the signs in at the end of our street. I told him I thought it would be better if we waited at least until closer to the time of the open house, which was 1:00pm. As you all learned from my last entry, my spouse has difficultly with the concept of time.

I told him I didn't want people seeing the signs out in the neighborhood, then start showing up at our door when we weren't ready to show the house yet. I suggested noon as a better time. He threw a fit. ("Why do I bother to say anything - I'm always wrong... ") Blah blah blah. Men are so fuckin' stupid.

Then a little later, he was looking for some damn thing - a remote control, I think - and he looked in my file cabinet drawer next to the computer. Let me first say that I'm obsessively neat. My closets, drawers and cabinets are in perfect order. There's one thing that isn't... my file cabinet. I have things thrown in, in no particular order. There are books, receipts, remotes to unknown electronics and miscellaneous shit.

I keep it a mess mainly because I have nowhere else to put things. Right now, when we (HA! We, my ass.. I mean I!!!) I'm busy trying to: get this house sold, keep it immaculate, find interim housing, get the kids ready to start school and get shit ready for this garage sale... organizing a fucking file cabinet wasn't high on my list of priorites. When Kevin opened the drawer, he blew a gasket. He started to stack things up and rearrange them into various piles, fuming all the way. I stopped what I was doing and told him, "NO! This is my cabinet and you're not going to try to 'tidy it up'!"

He's always doing that in my kitchen and I hate it! Every three months or so, I open the pantry door and can't find anything because he's come along with some stupid back-assward system of reorganization, whereby he puts the box of pasta I just bought behind 35 bags of Ramen soup that have been in there since the stone age that I can't bring myself to throw away.

Kevin started to scream about the file cabinet drawer. I asked him what the fuck he expected me to do with the shit? Throw it in his precious garage? Toss it about the living room floor? Isn't the most sensible solution to keep it tucked away in a drawer that no one will ever see? (Just a note: he immediately found the item for which he was searching. It was right in the front of the drawer, where I told him it was.)

Then, I lost my mind.

I'll preface this by saying this wasn't the time of the month for Kevin to mess with me. Each month, my PMS gets more and more intense and he picked the absolute worst time to be barraging me with his nitpicky shit. I threw all the contents of the cabinet on the floor and threw a tantrum that would have made my two year old proud. I screamed and cried and told him I couldn't take any more. I do the best I can. His house is immaculate, his kids are well taken care of. He has food to eat and celkan clothes to wear and me waiting dutifully for him every night when he gets home form work. I've done every damn thing concerning this move and getting the house ready to sell and I don't deserve for him to come down on me for one single, miniscule, petty, stupid little file cabinet drawer daring to have papers in it.

I'm still quite upset with Kevin. I think back to when he and I were planning to divorce and I wonder where I would be now had I gone through with it. True, I wouldn't be building my dream home or be driving my dream car, like I am now... but who cares? I can't help but wonder if I'd be happier? I stayed for the kids, plain and simple. For the most part, Kevin and I have been trying to work through this type of thing, but there are days when I wish like hell I had never met him. There's another road I could've taken in life and my mind often wanders down that road.

Anyway... again I digress. Shortly before the open house was to begin, I loaded the kids up in the car and prepared to drive them around for a bit. The couple I wrote about the other day, Paul and Susan, showed up right at 1:00pm. I drove around, got some gas for my big-ass gas-chugging SUV (another reason to criticize me) then drove back to see if the people had left. I hadn't eaten before I left and really wanted to grab a bite. I drove back by the house 45 minutes later and the people were just then leaving the house! They sat in their car for awhile, looking at the bro-SHEER and punching numbers on their calculator. They saw me pulling up and obviously thought I was interested in looking at the house. I saw the guy in his car, frantically trying to get out before I got to the house first. I said hello to him, then kept walking. He thought I was trying to beat him to the house! It was hilarious seeing this guy trying to race me up the driveway. His wife then said to me, "This is your house, isn't it?" I told her it was. Her husband breathed a sigh of relief and said, "Oh, thank GOD! We really like your house and don't want anyone else to get it!"

They came back in and told us they were going to call Sue (the realtor) and tell her they wanted to buy it!

They came back by last night with their parents and they walked them through it while we took the heathens out for haircuts. They plan to write up a contract on it. I don't f'n believe it.

We sold this house!!!

It was the "Paul and Susan" coincidence, I tell ya.

11:31 a.m. - 2003-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: