ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekends... bah

It's 11:00pm and I'm flat out exhausted, but I elected to get out of bed and sit here typing a diary entry because I know I won't have the time tomorrow. Life is definitely in the spin cycle these days. I never thought I could be so busy.

I'll try to rewind a few days to get caught up on updating. Saturday... Kevin and I had an appointment at 10:00am to meet with the manager of the housing development to choose our colors for the new house. Or so I thought. Matthew was supposed to come over and watch the kids for us. Or so I thought. Stephanie had to work, otherwise she would have come with him. When we woke up, I asked Kevin what time Matt would be here. He said something about it depending on what time Stephanie had to work, but finally confirmed that Matt would be here at 9:30am.

We fed the kids, showered and were getting ready to go. I had the sneaking suspicion that Matt would either forget to show up to watch the kids or be exceptionally late.

At 9:20am, when he hadn't showed, I asked Kevin to call him. He hung up the phone and informed me, "Matt's on his way." We'll define those terms later on in this broadcast.

At 9:55am, when Matt still hadn't showed... I asked Kevin what exactly "on his way" meant. He admitted that Matthew was just getting into the shower when he called. Now, be honest...

Am I wrong in assuming that "on the way" can mean any of the following?

~ approaching the front door

~ approaching your vehicle

~ in your vehicle

~ in your running vehicle

~ en route

~ almost to said destination

As far as I'm concerened, "on the way" doesn't mean just then dragging one's lazy ass out of bed and turning on the shower.

I told Kevin, "Great! Now we're going to be late for our appointment." He informs me, "We didn't have an appointment!"

Again, I misunderstand. Is meeting someone at a certain time and place not construed as an "appointment"? WTF is it then... a date?? He then said, "Terry (the manager of the building company) told me he'd meet us there at 10 or so." I guess "10 or so" doesn't mean 10:00am, as I thought it did and nothing about the statement means "appointment". Stupid me.

I yell. He yells. I cry. He yells some more. I wonder why the hell I married such an asshole and he swears he's going to cancel the entire home-building process.

At 10:10am, Matthew shows up. As it was, after showering, he took Stephanie to breakfast, then to work, then came here. So much for on his way. I kiss the younger children goodbye (Evan came with us), wipe the mascara that's now running in tear streaks down my face and we leave.

I told Kevin along the way that I refuse to allow him to ruin this for me. Building the place we're in now was a nightmare, because Kevin was vehemently opposed to it from the beginning. He swore I bullied him into going through with it. He did nothing through the entire building process but lay blame on me for everything that went wrong, which was alot. I told him I simply wouldn't tolerate it this time.

We got there at 10:35am, dammit. Terry was on his way out because (big fucking surprise) he was expecting us at 10:00 but the salesman was there and he helped us with our color sheet.

Evan colored in his coloring book and played with his Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles while we choose colors. NOTE: If you're swearing you read a few paragraphs ago that Kevin was cancelling the entire thing - you're right. He did say it and I did write it. If I had a dollar for everytime he has called and put a stop to things, I'd have enough money to pay cash for that house. I've learned to ignore his childish threats made in anger.

We choose island pearl (off white) for our siding, bordeaux (deep dark maroon) for our shutters and trim, a sandy color for the brick on the fireplace, the palest oak available for the spindle and wood trim color, walnut (off white with tan and brown swirl) for the marble vanity and cider oak (a pale oak) for the cabinets. We'll choose our flooring at the flooring manufacturer later this week sometime.

We stopped on the way home for lunch to bring back for us, Matt and the kids.

Sunday was our open house. I'll write about it tomorrow. It was another day of drama - complete with misbehaved children, suspense and another knock down, drag out fight with Kevin. Stay tuned for the next exciting adventure.

11:10 p.m. - 2003-07-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: