ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday Five

1. What were your favorite childhood stories? ~~~~ I loved Dr. Suess, Where the Wild Things Are and a book, the name of which I can't recall, about a boy who didn't take a bath and ultimately found carrots growing out of his ears. Unfortunately, I don't have much of a recollection of books from my childhood. As a teenager, I loved Judy Blume and Sweet Dreams Romance books!

2. What books from your childhood would you like to share with [your] children? ~~~~ My kids have all the Dr. Seuss books memorized and enjoy some of the same Sesame Street books I grew up reading. I'm of the opinion that if kids read, for Heaven's sake let them read whatever they want, within reason of course. Evan adores Captain Underpants, a series of books which alot of people find offensive. As I see it, these stories hooked the interest of a kid who hated to read and have allowed him to read on a fourth grade level upon exiting first grade. Same thing with Harry Potter... if kids show an interest in reading, allow them to read!

3. Have you re-read any of those childhood stories and been surprised by anything? ~~~~ I'm always delighted to see my kids enjoy the same things about books that I did. They laugh in the same spots and notice the same things.

4. How old were you when you first learned to read? ~~~ I was three.

5. Do you remember the first 'grown-up' book you read? How old were you? ~~~ I read Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger at age nine.

I hope everyone is having a safe, happy Fourth of July! Please be careful with fireworks, all! See you over the weekend!

7:12 p.m. - 2003-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: