ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hot flashes, dry skin and lack of sleep

I'm in the midst of the biggest hot flash I've ever experienced. Not only is it going to be well into the nineties today, but I'm already sweating like Ruben Studdard on stage and it's only eight in the morning. Today will be an "indoor day" as I'm always telling the kids. I've got the A/C down so low the kids are asking for their coats.

I think I see frost forming on the tips of their ears, yet I've got my hair piled up on top of my head to keep it off of my sweaty neck.

Tomorrow, we plan to do nothing. Usually, I'm the one wanting to go to the fairs and see the fireworks. This year, I want to do nothing. I'm tired of fighting crowds, trying to get the best spot for fireworks viewing and hearing the kids piss and moan about how bored they are. The foreacasted temps are in the upper 90s, so sitting in the A/C sounds like a perfect way to celebrate the holiday.

Night before last, we went swimming at the Y. This always sounds like a good idea in the planning stages, but seldom turns out like I hope. I ought to be arrested for subjected the aquatic population of my fair city to the sight of my pale cellulite and never~ending fat rolls. Having to hold 28 pounds of bouncing, frolicing toddler wreaks havoc on my old back and shoulders.

The water at the Y lately has had an especially high clorine content, which wreaks havoc on my dry skin and sensitive eyes. The water almost seemed salty, as well. I don't swim when I'm in the ocean, so I can't imagine why they'd want to simulate the ocean in a public pool.

Because I'm an attention deficited scatterbain, I completely forgot to bring some basic essentials along, like... oh, lotion, a hairbrush and some thing called a change of clothing!! God, I'm not fit to be raising children.

So I left the Y wearing a dripping wet swimming suit, an equally wet outfit, my hair matted and tangled and my skin crying out for moisturizer of any kind.

We opened to door to exit and found it was raining cats and dogs. Being unprepared enough to forget clothing, I bet you can guess I certainly didn't have an umbrella along. We made a mad dash for the car and all got drenched. My skin actually hurt from lack of lotion.

We stopped off at Buffalo Wild Wings to get some dinner to bring home. I would have killed for lotion at least for my hands. I must have the driest skin on earth.

Since we were out of soda at home, we got two giant diet cokes to take back with us. Since they were regular diet cokes, I took in more caffeine that I normally would have in three days. I was up half the night. I woke up at 1:30am and was awake until almost 5:30am. I'm an "eight hours a day" kinda girl, so if I don't get that, I have to make it up somewhere, somehow. When Kevin came home last night, I was asleep on the couch with Griffin asleep on top of me. I didn't even know he had climbed up to join me. I love cuddling my guys when they sleep. Evan and Jameson were pulling at me and tapping my head, saying, "Mom? You awake? Mom, fetch this, get that, change this, fix that.... "

Today is the last day of summer school for Evan. While I'm upset about this, it does have its advantages. I'll be glad not to have to fight with him about waking up on time everyday. I can let his lazy ass sleep in for a couple weeks. He can't seem to connect the need for getting up with going to school. I'll be glad not to have to wait for the bus in 85 degree blaring sunshine. I'll like not having to worry about whether we're home between 3:40pm and 3:50pm everyday to greet the bus. Hell, I might even take a nap and not worry about when I wake up.

Yeah, right... like my kids would let me sleep.

8:25 a.m. - 2003-07-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: