ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring Has Sprung!

The weatherman assures us we've had our last day of cold. The extended forecast calls for temps in the upper sixties and low seventies! Could it be? Could spring really be here? I think I may cry! I've waited so long for spring! I LOVE spring!

My tulips are popping up through the ground in my flower bed. I can't wait to see them. We planted over 100 bulbs so I hope we get one or two. Plants are usually doomed in my care.

My son is a cleptomaniac. When Evan was at his friend's house over the weekend, he stole $3 from his friend's room. Evan flashed the money at me later in the day and I asked him where he got it. He stammered, not thinking I might actually wonder where on earth he got $3, then said, "I found it on the street."

Hmmm.... three lone one-dollar bills just lying there on the street. And on such a windy day, too. Imagine the odds! I was born in the dark, sweetie, but it wasn't last night. I asked him if he took the money from Lewis' house and he said no. I asked if I could call Robin and ask her and he said no. Just what I thought.

I called Robin and told her what had happened. I tried to get Evan to call, but he refused. She was nice enough not to tell Lewis that Evan took his money so he wouldn't be mad at Evan. I had him make a card for Robin apologizing for taking the money, and naturally I had him return the money. I hope this is the last experience we have with theivery. Anyone know ~ is it normal for a seven year old boy to experiment with stealing?

We went to a Book Fair up at the elementary school last week. There was a guest appearance by The Cat in the Hat. Griffin was stunned. He looked way up to his big hat and just smiled. Jameson fell in love. He hugged him and wouldn't let go. He showed him every page of the Clifford book I had just bought him. It was so cute ~ he said, "You not in this book, but I read it to you... " A photographer took loads of pictures of the two of them. So I guess Jameson will be a star in the next school newsletter or maybe the newspaper.

Last night, I had the best meal I've ever had in my life. Kevin had me pick a restaurant for our dinner out. I tried to think of a place we'd never been. Usually I can't think of a place and we end up at the same old boring restaurants. Last night, I finally thought of something new. It's called Bahama Breeze. They have .... I'm trying to think what ethnicity it is. Cuban, maybe? A touch of Indian, kind of a mediterranean taste. We had an appetizer called West Indian Patties, which were like Empanadas, but with a dash of curry (usually I HATE curry, but this was done really well) and a cream cheese and salsa dipping sauce with peach mango chutney on the side. Holy hell, they were good. Then we had a salad, with huge chunks of bleu cheese in the dressing. I ordered Jamaican Jerk Pork over mashed potatoes and vegetable fritters. For dessert, we had the best cappucino I've ever had and the best key lime pie I've ever had. I ate so much I literally felt drunk. I wanted to unbutton my pants right there at the table and let my fat stomach shoot across the whole place. Oh! And we had some type of drink, virgin of course since both of us are on medication. It was fruity and icy and absolutely yummy. I can't wait to go back. I figured the bill would be an easy C note, but it was only $60!

Jameson's toy from Canada finally arrived yesterday. Christ, I could have walked it home in a back pack in the time it took to get here. Not the seller's fault ~ she sent it the day after the auction closed. It took eleven days to get here. Packages take less time coming from Australia, for chrissake.

Today is the statewide tornado drill. It's at 1:30pm, while Jameson is in school. This should spook the shit out of him thoroughly. And his mom, too.

Well, Mount Wash Me awaits laundering. Have a nice day.

9:23 a.m. - 2003-03-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: