ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why can't I sleep?

Okay, so it�s 5:00am and I can�t sleep. I know, I know... I�ll regret this in a few hours.

I hate unpacking. Hate it! That�s mainly why I haven�t done it yet, other than the laundry that I had no choice but to unpack. My assorted sundries are still packed and I�ve been removing them from a duffle bag in my bathroom sink on an as needed basis. Maybe I should just leave everything packed until another trip presents itself?

Griffin has been having trouble sleeping since we�ve been home. I also think he�s teething. He keeps drooling and gnawing on his hand. Needless to say, no one got a very good night�s sleep our first night back.

One day while we were in Oklahoma City, the smoke detector went off in our room. I smelled smoke near the heater/air conditioner, which Griffin had been messing with. He had turned the heat up all the way, so maybe that�s what did it. The smoke detector stopped, and so did the smoke smell, so who knows what it was. Later in the week, I smelled the same smoky smell in the stairwell between the second and third floor. Hmmm...

Since we ended up staying a day longer than I thought we would, we ran out of clothes. Instead of allowing my monsters to destroy a laundromat, spending a fortune in quarters, and lugging laundry around an unfamiliar town, I elected to go to the Wal~Mart~Mahal and just buy us all new, inexpensive outfits to wear home. I was wearing my new outfit at home yesterday when I started a load of laundry and splashed bleach on my new shirt. Dammit to hell. So I decided to get creative. I took an old toothbrush and splattered bleach over the entire outfit. I now have a cool

(*cough*sputter*choke*)

... new designer outfit at a Wal~Mart price.

Am I the only one on the planet who has a seven and a four year old still in pull~ups at night? Not only that, but nine times out of ten, they piss right through the pull~ups and soak their beds. I�ve made a decision... if they�re planning to piss themselves anyway, why don�t I save some money and not put pull~ups on them? Before you call me cruel, know this: they aren�t having accidents. They simply won�t get up to pee. Most of their pee~sprees occur before they fall asleep at night and when they first wake up in the morning, before I have a chance to say,

"Goodmorninghowdidyousleepgetoutof
thatpullup,please".

I�m so tired of changing sheets and spraying matresses with Lysol. Two grueling years of college so I can peel wet clothes off of school aged children for a living.

We�ve decided to allow our cats up into the house again. I�m not sure what came over me and brought me to that decision. Maybe it was the pathetic howls coming from the basement or the pitiful looks of sheer "abuse" on their fuzzy little faces everyday when I went down to feed them. Whatever the reason, they�re up in the house now. Little by little, I�m remembering why I put them downstairs in the first place, like:

~ constantly finding tufts of fur everywhere

~ stepping in cat "kak" on my way to the bathroom at 2am

~ having my toes bit in the middle of the night

~ having the kids run around, laughing maniacally, as if they�ve never before seen an animal

~ having all my clothing covered in cat hair

~ waking up to find a cat asleep across my neck

~ having the kids come crying to me that they�ve been scratched, when "all I was doing was pulling the cat�s tail and trying to ride him like a horse"

Kevin doesn�t believe in declawing, so that�s not an option. We have an appointment to have them groomed again, so hopefully that�ll cut down on the constant shedding. Maybe I�ll have their claws trimmed, too.

WTF am I doing up at 5:20am?? Am I insane? Don�t answer that.

I�m going to bed.

5:32 a.m. - 2003-05-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: