ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My first born

I've uploaded some recent pictures to an online photo album. Click on the link above, if you'd like to check them out!

Yesterday was Evan's IEP evaluation. His teachers said he's doing really well and they see no need to change his IEP for second grade. He does well on the rare occasions he has to be without his para, but is still uncomfortable being around people of authority who he's unfamilair with. He's still reading far above grade level and has above average intelligence, but test results don't always show this because he tests poorly.

Evan's test results came back from his autism screening. I had to fill out a looo-oong questionaire, as did both of his teachers. Their answers were consistent with one another's, but not at all with mine. He is, after all, a completely different child at home than he is at school. I'm not saying better or worse in either place, just totally different. They noted he isn't affectionate or demonstrative and doesn't like to be touched. Polar opposite than he is at home. He's always snuggling up to us, hugging Griffin (not Jameson), rubbing our backs affectionately and asking me to snuggle in bed with him when he goes to sleep. He loves it when I hold him close. I love how he always says, "Mmmmm... " when I hug him. It's probably my most favorite thing about my Evan.

The teachers said they really need Evan's pdoc to make an official diagnosis. The doctor is hesitant to do so, for fear of misdiagnosing him. I can see that, however... the school needs a diagnosis in order to obtain for him the services that would best suit him. I'm a little pissed off at his doctor right now anyway. She hasn't returned our phone calls or faxes for over a week now.

Robin, the special ed teacher, think Evan is 100%, text~book Asperger's. I at one time thought that, too. Now I'm not so sure. I think Jameson may be, but I'm not sure about Evan.

I do know that Evan is a changed child from a week or so ago when I was ready to list him on ebay. I didn't put two and two together, but Robin pointed out that Evan's substitute bus driver may have had something to do with it. I believe she's right. His regular driver, Vickie, was off last week. The substitute was this obnoxious, lard~ass bitch who never had a nice thing to say to Evan. I don't know if she's familiar with his situation or not, but she had no business driving a bus with special needs kids.

She was always calling me over to tell me all the horrible things Evan did on the two minute bus ride. The first day she drove, she told me, "Evan was cussin' at all uh us and flickin' us all off!" I asked her if "flicking off" was similar to "flipping off", as I always thought "flicking off" was something you did when you had a booger stuck to your finger. She then said that she "... talked to him and toll him uh stop, but he don't care!"

He don't, huh?

I had to bite my tongue to keep from telling her she needed to get her fat ass out of the bus and attend one of the Kindergarten grammar lessons to learn how to not butcher our wonderful language. Instead, I reprimanded Evan, made him apologize and walked him into the house.

Over the course of the next week, everytime she dropped him off, she would shake her head and roll her eyes, like she had never dealt with a kid as bad as Evan. Oh get over it, bitch. He's a first grader. Everyone knows first grade boys are vile, disgusting, obnoxious brats. Don't like it? Get a different job. Not that I condone what Evan did, but when people deal with him with disapproval and shame him as she did, it only makes him react in anger and defiance. She could have handled it differently.

I'm so glad Miss Vickie is back.

Wow, this entire entry is about Evan.

7:15 a.m. - 2003-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: