ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ouch!

I�ve done something to my wrist. As if I wasn�t already the world�s worst typist. Please forgive any typos, I can only hold my left wrist in one position. Ouch, it hurts! I slept with an Icy Hot patch on it all night and I woke up with it feeling worse. I can�t for the life of me figure out what I�ve done to it. It just started hurting last night. I thought maybe I slept on it wrong night before last, but who the hell knows. I am absolutely useless. I can�t even take a shower, because I can�t wash my hair or hold a towel. This should be an interesting day, especially since today is my and Kevin�s anniversary.

It�s not our wedding anniversary. Eighteen years ago today was our first date. Eighteen years ago yesterday, he asked me out. I was planning to break up that night with my boyfriend Jon, anyway. I told Kevin yes, then went to Jon�s house and broke up with him. He was suicidal and told me he was going to drive him car off Topanga Canyon and it would be all my fault. I said, �Bye! Have a nice drive.� Jon didn�t drive off Topanga Canyon. He never even left the house that night.

Anyway, Kevin and I went out on our first date - to Rob and Mary�s wedding. I wore grey Forenza parachute pants and tan and grey sweater. Eww! I can�t believe I would dress that way, especially to go on a date! Kevin and I talked, ate lots of yummy food and watched a drunken Mike Ayers fall into the swimming pool. He kissed me that night and I fell in love. As of today, I�ve officially been with Kevin half my life.

Good god. Half my life!!

Anyway, we�re planning to go to P.F. Chang�s tonight and it would help if I was able to take a shower and look decent. I can�t imagine how I�m going to get through the day with only one functioning hand. I have a couple of errands to run and a buttload of laundry piled up. I begged Kevin to stay home today, but since we got pelted with a major storm last night, he knows he�ll be swamped with hail claims today. He assures me he�ll come home early, though. Hmph. We�ll see what his idea of early is.

Jameson had a wonderful time at Matt and Stephanie�s! He was really good for them and had a blast. He slept until 9:45am!! Unheard of!!

As I said the other day, the 3rd is the anniversary of my first car accident. I hesitate to even call it an accident, because it didn't involve another car. This story may be a repeat for some of you, so feel free to skip it if you're heard it before.

Still with me? Nnkay...

It was May 3, 1990. I had just come home from work, around 5:30pm. I parked in the driveway, when I noticed Kevin arriving home as well. He parked his truck in the street. I wanted to tell him the good news, that I had accepted the new job I had been offered and had given notice at my old job, where I was a buyer at an art and drafting supply business.

I got out of my car, a 1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass. As I was half in and half out the door, the car slipped out of gear and started to roll back down the driveway. The driveway to our house in California was quite steep and made of sealed gravel. I tried to step back into the car and apply the emergency brake, but my foot got stuck between the side panel and the brake. I was knocked down, pinned underneath the car and dragged (drug?) down the driveway. I hit a big hole in the gravel just before hitting the concrete of the sidewalk.

Without thinking, Kevin got behind the car and stopped it. I could see my reflection in the chrome moulding of the bottom of the door. I was screaming. When the car stopped, I got up and saw a neighborhood full of people running towards me. I was mortified. Kevin said he was calling an ambulance. I wanted to run away, but could barely move. I hobbled inside and looked at myself in the hall tree mirror. My shirt was shredded completely off my body. My shoulder had seperated, my collar bone was sticking straight up. I could turn my head and touch it with my cheek, which I found fascinating. My right arm was hanging longer than my left, which I never imagined was possible. It was turning purple. I had an eight inch long gash across my left leg from where the car door came back and sliced me. It hurt worse than the shoulder/collar bone.

I agreed to go to the hospital, but I wanted Kevin to take me, I didn't want to ride in any damn ambulance. On the way, I thought about how on earth I was going to tell my supervisor the news. I had a big order to place the following day. Scott would be livid with me!

At the hospital, they gave me a blanket to cover myself up, since my clothing had become one with the driveway. I have that blanket to this day. I love it. A trainee with very little cerebral matter gave me x~rays that he had to keep re~taking. A doctor with a seventh grade education told me nothing was broken. He put me in a sling and sent me home.

The following day, a new doctor called me and said that whoever had read my x~rays the night before was out of their mind... my shoulder and collar bone were both severely broken and I should immediately go back to the emergency room or see my orthopedist, if I had one. I did.

Kevin's mother took me to see Dr. Percival. He put me in a brace that went from my neck to my waist and completely confined my right arm. I couldn't do a thing for myself. I hated it. My mom and brother came up for a couple of days to help out.

For six weeks, I had to have help showering, dressing, cleaning, cooking and even going to the bathroom. Since I was between jobs, I had no health insurance. I had to pay for all the medical bills on credit cards, which began a string of many years of financial difficulties for us.

My shoulder still acts up now and again and I still have a few scars here and there. I can't believe it's been 13 years!

Whew, I need to rest this wrist of mine. Talk to you all later.

Happy Cinco De Mayo ~ and please don't drink and drive.

8:54 a.m. - 2003-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: