ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Evan the Terrible

I really should give an update even though I'm exhausted and not really in the mood to recollect the stress of yesterdays events.

Evan had a really tough day yesterday. All he did was get himself in deeper and deeper trouble. Friday night is really when it began. He went down the street to Chase's house. He's always told to stay where I can see him and come home when I call him. He disobeyed me on both accounts. He went into the trees behind Chase's house and when he did finally resurface (he was driving Chase's little 4WD toy in the street) I called him to come home. He looked up at me and completely disregarded me. I called again and he ignored me again. Then he disappeared. It took me getting the other kids strapped into their car seats in the Envoy to drive down the street to get him.

He saw me getting ready to leave and panicked that I might be leaving without him, ("Hmmmm... " writer thinks) and he ran down the street yelling, "WAIT MOM!!"

Since we were all in the car anyway, I had to leave so as not to look like an idiot to the neighbors. I went to the bank to get some cash and took the kids to McDonald's. Before you go and think I was rewarding Evan for behaving like a delinquent, bear in mind that I was rewarding myself by not having to cook.

Evan told me he didn't realize it was me calling. He thought someone else was calling for "another Evan".

For Chrissake.

Now, in our neighborhood, we have 500 Madisons, Mackenzies and Alyssas, but I know for a fact there's only one Evan. Please.

I tried to explain (once again) about all the things that can happen to little guys who wander off and don't stay where their Mommys can see them. I thought I made it clear, without scaring him, how important it is. But then...

Saturday morning, he was outside with Kevin while Kevin was doing a side job. (He's working on a co-worker's car) I assumed, incorrectly, that Evan would stay in the yard where Kevin could see him. I popped my head out the door awhile later and asked Kevin if Evan was nearby. He told me Evan had told him he was coming in to see me.

*Sigh* Evan never came inside to see me, so he snuck off down the street to Chase's house again. I got dressed, went outside and began the "I scream/he ignores" routine again. I finally got into the car again and drove down the street to find him. I knocked on three doors before I finally found him at the end of the street near the school, in the backyard of someone I don't know. I put him in the car and took him home, fuming all the way.

I told him I hoped he enjoyed his excursion, because I wasn't planning to let him see the light of day ever again.

Later in the day, I allowed him to go in the backyard, since it's fenced, with Jameson. While there, he got put into time~out twice for smart~mouthing me. After the third time and several warnings, I brought him in for good. What am I going to do with this child? He's so Goddamn smart, but he can't compute the simplest of things.

Jameson spent last night with Matt and Stephanie. I missed him. I hope he's having a good time and wasn't afraid if he woke up in the middle of the night in a strange place. They were planning to take him to Olive Garden for dinner. I can't wait to hear how that went!

I had planned to go to garage sales yesterday morning, but after scanning the list of sales in Fridays paper, I didn't see any that hit my eye.

After Kevin did all he could do on his side job, we went to Lowe's and finally bought the coach lights for the front of the house. They had the ones we wanted at a really low price. We also priced storm doors for the front and back doors. We found some really nice ones that lock and with windows that open. We have to special order them after we measure to determine what size we need.

I was hoping we could go look at beds and TVs, but... the best laid plans of mice and men... take a back seat to Kevin having side jobs.

I was going to talk about yesterday being the 13 year anniversary of my first car "accident", but I'll have to save that for another time. I'm hungry and want to eat breakfast.

Have a good Sunday!

6:56 a.m. - 2003-05-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: