ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Busy Halloween

Okay... let�s see if I can recall the events of my busy day yesterday.

Kevin came home around noon and we took Jameson to meet with the occupational therapist at his soon-to-be preschool. He did okay, I guess, but you can definitely tell one of his weak areas is comprehension. The OT would ask him to draw a line and he�d draw a circle. She ask him to draw a square and he�d draw a circle. Even when she�d show him a flash card with a square on it, he�d still draw a circle. *Sigh* He had trouble sitting still and wanted to play with all the toys there. I attributed this to the fact that he doesn�t attend preschool and really doesn�t get out much, except an ocaasional visit to a day care.

He was overwhelmed with all the new things to do and see. She had him try to use scissors and he had NO clue what to do with them. This also is my fault. I have a phobia about kids with scissors and I admittedly don�t work with him with them. He did really well with block patterning. She would build a tower of ten blocks and have him imitate it. Then she built a stair case and he repeated that, as well, even with the same colors she had used. So it�s apparent that his fine motor skills are right on target.

She also has him put red hot candies into a small tube as quickly as he could. Considering he ate two of the candies before she even finished explaining the instructions, he accomplished this rather quickly!

Jameson doesn�t do too well with buttons, zippers and snaps, but does really well feeding himself. He dresses and undresses himself (sometimes as inopportune moments) and performs other small motor skills just fine. I doubt he�ll need occupational therapy services, but he might need something to help with his poor attention span and lack of comprehension.

After this appointment, we went to Evan�s school for his Halloween party. We thought about just one of us going, so the other could watch the kids, but we decided to both go, put the kids in a stroller and take them along. As we arrived, we saw Evan�s special ed teacher. She told us they were offering babysitting in the library! We couldn�t get that stroller there fast enough! This school never ceases to amaze me. They had several teachers in the library watching the little ones. Jameson was in high Heaven with all the book and the big carpeted climbing structure in the corner. Griffin loved the styrofoam blocks and watching all the older kids running around.

Evan�s party was fun. They had centers set up where they decorated their own sugar cookies, made lollipop spiders, listened to ghost stories and all kinds of other fun stuff. He is so lucky to have such wonderful teachers and a great para who thinks the world of him. She has a great sense of humor - she said that she�s impressed that Evan�s profanity is always used in the proper text. For example: He looked at one of the projects they were doing and said, �Why the fuck are they doing it like that?� She said she was thinking the exact same thing. *Blushing* I�m so proud. NOT.

Evan and his best friend, Lewis looked so cute together, tagging along with each other to each center. I�m so glad he has a best friend.

After we left there, we went to the grocery store for a few things and got home just as Evan was getting off the school bus. I didn�t realize it had gotten that late.

We gave the kids dinner and Kevin took their pictures. I may have to redress them and get some more pics. In each of the individual pictures, the kids either aren�t looking at the camera or they have dopey looks on their faces. Kevin kept taking the pics off center, too as if he never used that camera. Sheesh. I�m very particular about the kids pictures. Call me anal! Hehehe...

Kevin took the boys trick or treating and I stayed home and doled out candy. We had a really low turn out with maybe ten groups coming to the door. As usual, I ended up with way too much candy. I�ll be eating Dum Dum suckers from now until Easter. Kevin said that only about ten houses were participating in giving out candy. Weird! I know it was cold (about 40 degrees), but I wonder why so few people were participating.

When they got home, we loaded them up in the van and took them to Matt and Stephanie�s apartment. Steph has a hay bale set up in front of their door, so I sat Griffin on it and had Evan and Jameson stand next to him. I knocked on the door and Matt answered. He was surprised to see his brothers sitting there! We only stayed a few minutes to visit. Jameson was so bad, I couldn�t believe it. He climbed all over their furniture, jumped around, turned the lights on and off and tried to �blow out� the fireplace. (He thinks all flames are birthday candles) I was exhausted trying to keep up with him.

The whole night about did us all in. We all slept in until about 7:30am, which for this house is late!! Except Kevin, of course, who went swimming at 5am, as usual.

I have to run to Target today for some things, including a coffee maker. We suffered a tragic, catastrophic loss last week when our old coffee maker went on the blink. Kevin's been stopping on his way home from the Y at the Mobil Mart for coffee. It's good, but it's so thick you practically have to chew it.

I�m surprised Target hasn�t called wondering where I�ve been. I bet it�s been two weeks since I was there. It must be some sort of record.

Have a good day and I�ll see you all later!

10:55 a.m. - 2002-11-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: