ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Check up time

Today was Jameson's and Griffin's well-child check ups. Not surprisingly, the doctor recommended speech therapy for Griffin. She agrees he should be talking by now and needs assistance in learning to do so. Great. All I need is three kids who tell me to shut up. She said I need to immediately punish Griffin every time he hits, kicks, scratches or hurts me. She suggested putting him in a Pack and Play for a time out. I just sold mine. She suggested a small confined area in which to place him as a form of punishment. Perhaps my family room? It's the size of most walk in closets. Health-wise he's fine. He's in the 75th percentile in height and weight. Doctor said Griffin's annoying habit of bringing... uh, the captain out of his diaper and peeing all over the place is normal and something I will need to wait out until he gets older. She also assured me poop-smearing is normal, albeit disgusting, phase in a toddler's development. At least he's outgrowing the actual smearing of it and has now resorted to simply handing me the contents of his diaper. We're getting there...

Jameson has been recommended to a neurologist. She still suspects (as she did at his four year check) that he may have a behavioral disorder, ADHD or autism in a mild form. I never followed through with the recommendation she gave last year, because I was hoping he'd simply outgrow alot of his symptoms. He hasn't. Tomorrow I'll be calling to be put on this neurologist's long waiting list. Jameson too, is healthy and growing as he should be. I had my doubts about this. Jameson has always been a puny, pathetic looking child. The other day, we ran into a kid in the laundry room. He and Jameson started talking. This child was huge, so I suspected he must be at least 8 or 9. I asked how old he was and he said, "Five!"

Jesus!

He was at least twice as tall as Jameson and had a good 50 pounds on him.

But I digress...

Both kids were such a handful in the exam room that the doctor and I practically had to shout at one another to be heard over them. As a result, I'm spent. If Kevin weren't working late, I'd go to bed right now.

I'm trying to put together a trip to CA for November. The condo isn't available, so I'll be making hotel reservations somewhere. I'd like to find something with two bedrooms, because I'd like mom to come up with me. If we have two rooms, we can each have some space and privacy and she can snore all she wants. If we end up having to share a room - I guess I can live with that. I just need to get away. Casa Sirena is the cheapest, but their rooms leave alot to be desired. I likely wouldn't be spending alot of time in the room, but it would be nice to have a shower that drains and beds that don't sag.

First I have to talk Kevin into all of this. I want to convince him to take his extra paycheck in October and let me spend it on my vacation. Maybe if I promise not to talk about Clay between now and then... nah. I know my limitations.

Have a good night, all.

6:30 p.m. - 2003-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: