ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finally online!

If you�re reading this, it means I finally got online to post it. I heard on the radio that with all the last minute online shopping, servers were bogged down so badly that it�s virtually impossible to get online. I tried several times.

I spent a day and a half cleaning the playroom. A day and a half!! When I did home daycare many years ago, I used to disinfect toys daily. Now I�m lucky if I do it twice a year. This was the first time in at least a year that I gave that room anything other than a quickie cleaning.

There was enough shit under Evan�s bed, I could have played Santa to a small country. There was enough food behind the TV cabinet, I could have fed the same country. I have very strict rules about food being taken into other rooms of the house, but apparently my kids found ways around that. There were jelly beans, a can of Coke (which I do NOT allow the kids to drink!) a half eaten blueberry bagel and an undecipherable glob of mystery. I�m surprised we weren�t infested with rodentia and insects.

I cleaned, disinfected and dusted all the toys, books and furniture and I gave all the plush toys a good dousing with Lysol and let them air out.

I threw away many small �Happy Meal� toys, or as my friend Connie used to call them: Chuck E. Cheese type shit, LOL! I threw out anything that was broken, never played with or just plain ridiculous. I even threw out a great big supposedly-talking Buzz Lightyear that I bought from ebay two years ago. It was the only ebay item I ever got taken on. It was listed as �new in box�. The box was trashed and the toy never worked from day one. I kept it only so the kids could have the figure itself to play with, but they never even did that. It was just a dust collector. Now it�s trash. We�ll see how long it takes for them to notice.

I�ve been busting my ass trying to get this place cleaned up for when Kevin�s outlaws and ex-wife show up. It might sound juvenile, but I want this place to be model-home perfect for their arrival. None of them ever believed Kevin and I would make it (we almost didn�t a couple of times!) and they never thought we�d ever survive out here after moving from California. I want them to see my warm, clean, perfect home and then rub their noses in it. Okay, so I need a life. Tell me something I don't know.

I plan to do a Christmas dinner with all of them and Matt and Stephanie. I�ll have 11 people over and I have no idea where the hell I�ll put them all. Stephanie said I could borrow a card table and chairs set that she�s borrowing from Monika, but even with that, it won�t sit all the people we�ll have. I�ll be damned if those people (or any people) will sit on my brand new couch and eat! Wait... if Griffin is in his high chair, Evan and Jameson could sit at their Little Tikes table, Mel, Nancy, Debbie and Autumn could sit (don't mind me, nnkay? I�m just thinking out loud) at the dining room table and Matt, Stephanie, Kevin and I could sit at the card table! Yay! I figured it out!

The other night I took Evan to the mall with me. It had been a long time since he and I did anything together, just the two of us. I took him to eat at a place called Appetizeers. The dipshit working the cash register had no idea what she was doing and had to call two people to tell her which damn buttons to push. I bought Debbie a couple of gift certificates and let Evan spend the $10 my Grandmother sent him. He bought a set of four Star Wars figures. I wish my brother had saved all his Star Wars shit from the late 70s.

Here are some pictures of my lighthouse bathroom, still very much under construction. Well, that's it. I must go clean...

2:58 p.m. - 2002-12-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: