ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I resolve... to stay on a diet more than eight minutes

I just found out my uncle has liver cancer. What is going on?! I can't believe how many people I know who died this year or are terminally ill.

He lives in Alabama and we've never been particularly close. He's my dad's younger half-brother. He's married and has four kids. I'm really not surprised to hear he's sick with something. He's never really taken good care of himself. My dad is surprisingly upset (they've never been very close, either) and I'm sure my grandmother is devastated.

One more week of cycle break. Evan has actually been pretty good. I know he's anxious to get back to school and I'm looking forward to the break, myself. He hasn't given me too much grief personally, but he and Jameson fight non-stop.

I've made a New Years Resolution. It's the same one I make every year and never seem to stick to more than a few days. I need to lose weight. It's hard. With three demanding children and an insatiable sweet tooth, it's a wonder I am able to stick to a diet for more than five minutes. Eating right takes so much discipline, not so much the consumption of healthy foods, but the preparation. If someone would prepare all the food for me, I could do it. I love healthy food. I love UNhealthy food, too. I just love food. I could not give up my ice cream, though. I would have to work it in somehow. I'm not sure what its Weight Watcher point value is, but I would have to figure it in. Period.

The biggest problem is after a hard day with the kids, the last thing I want to do is prepare something. The kids are under foot, whining, fussing and fighting. The conditions are not conducive to healthful culinary preparatory practices.

That's when we usually end up eating out.

But something has to give. I've gained so much weight, it's ridiculous. I've gained 50 pounds since my wedding day! 50 pounds!! My wedding dress was a size 8 and it was a tad bit loose in the chest (imagine that!!) and waist. My favorite jeans were a size 5. Now I wear a size 16 pants and an XL shirt. I look horrible. Recently I was shopping and I caught a glimpse of a big, fat broad pushing a stroller with her baby. I thought to myself... "Look at that fat woman! She has a stroller just like mine!" Upon closer inspection, I discovered she also had the same outfit as me, the same hair as me... and the same baby.

It was a mirror.

So something must be done. Wish me luck. I'm sure it won't last long, whatever I try.

Tonight Kevin is taking Debbie to a Rams game - likely the last one she'll get to go to. He asked me to go first, but I said as long as they'll be playing football at this football game, I wasn't interested in going. I detest football.

Hmmm. I smell a poopy diaper. I better go change it. Aloha.

8:06 a.m. - 2002-12-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: