ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life is Good... for now

I did something last night I've wanted to do for a long time...

We ate dinner on our new deck! Okay, so it isn't that noteworthy, but it was exciting for me, nonetheless. The weather yesterday was awesome. It got up to almost 70 degrees! We went out to Target and to the grocery store and it was so warm in the car, even with the windows down, that I had to turn on the vent! I had the kids in short sleeves and jackets and they ended up taking the jackets off. I had Griffin dressed in his Mark McGwire outfit, which meant I couldn't even get through the store without everyone commenting on him.

*Sigh* What a tough job I have - being the mommy of the most beautiful baby around. LOL!

I let the kids run around on the deck when we got home. I had wanted to let them go out into the yard, but it was still too muddy. In the spring, we're laying sod so hopefully that damn yard won't ever get so muddy again. It always floods whenever we get any precip whatsoever. Hopefully those days will be over soon.

I made hamburgers (on actual buns this time!), baked beans and potato salad. Actually, the deli at Dierberg's made the potato salad, but I spooned it out onto the plates, dammit. I set the kids' Little Tikes table out on the deck, set up Griffin's high chair and we sat out in the warm evening air and watched the sunset over the redneckness of my neighborhood. What a site. Griffin threw a fit about having to come in. He would've stayed out there all night, had I let him.

Today it's cloudy, rainy and still kinda warm, but it isn't expected to last. The temps are supposed to drop substantially today, then tomorrow we're back to single fucking digits. I hate winter. Have I mentioned that?

Kevin came home from Phoenix at 3am today. This morning, we sat down and figured out what we'd like to do with his newfound wealth. He agreed that I need a new car!! Yes! I don't need something fresh off the showroom floor...

*Interrupting this entry for an important question*

The kids are watching the Teletubbies. Why must every activity on this mindless show involve the sounds of flatulence? All these little bastards do is fart! WHY??

Now back to your regularly scheduled entry...

... I just want something a couple of years old, with the seating capacity of the van, without the bigness and bulkiness of the van. I'm thinking about a midsize SUV (that's right all you conservationist, greenpeace libs! I'm buying a gas chuggin', air polluting SUV! Deal with it!) I like the Saturn VUE, but after taking a look at my neighbors' model, I don't think it has the seating capacity I need. I need a back seat and a back-back seat. My kids would kill each other in no time if I placed them three across the back, not to mention that fact that three bulky car seats might not fit in one row of seats. I might take a look at a used Lexus RX300. I've always loved them. Kevin could get me a killer deal on a Hummer... too bad they're so damned ugly.

Anyway... it hasn't happened yet. I still have time to decide.

We're going to buy a bigger house sometime in the future. The good thing about having all this work done to the house, is that while it may not increase the value as much as if we lived in a better neighborhood, the improvements will make the house sell quickly. Someone will see a house in immaculate condition, with a three car garage, a fenced yard, a big deck and a play area for their kids, a stone's throw from the best elementary school in town and they'll make on offer immediately...

I hope.

We want to build a place not only in the same school district, but within the boundaries of this particular elementary school. We've struck such a goldmine with Evan's school and his teachers. I can't see uprooting him and having him start somewhere else. There are plenty of new housing developments in the area. We know the floor plan we want to build. All we would have to do is find a place and hopefully they would allow custom builds.

But again... I get ahead of myself. This is all in the future.

Well, it's a call-my-mom day, so I must conclude. Tune in tomorrow for more adventures.

I'm wearing: blue fleece jammies

I'm listening to: these damned Teletubbies farting - take some Beano already!

I'm eating/drinking: Jell-O pudding bites - man, these are good!

9:22 a.m. - 2003-02-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: