ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My American Idol Fix at last!

Ahhhhh.... I had my fix and I feel much better now.

It looks like the talent was really lacking last night. They let several people through that I wouldn't have. I only saw a couple who really blew me away. The others were marginal at best. I have to wonder about some of these people... do they know how awful they are, but are willing to makes total asses of themselves for their fifteen seconds of fame when they make the highlight reels? Or are they tone deaf and truly think they're talented? I don't think Simon was hard enough on some of them. I'm looking forward to part two tonight. Hopefully there'll be some better talent.

I really hate Justin's and Kelly's new haircuts. They both look awful.

Okay, now I have to vent... you know what I DO like, but do you want to know what I don't LIKE? I mean, really don't LIKE?

The word, "like".

It absolutely infuriates me to hear people, mainly teens and young adults, who use the word "like" every other word. When it's used properly, fine. But I want to scream when I hear people say, "I was like... are you like, going to the mall and she's like... ummm, like I don't know, are you like going?" One of the many things that irritates me about Joe Millionaire, other than the entire premise, is that everyone on the show, including people who are far old enough to know better, overuse and incorrectly use the word LIKE! I want to reach through the screen and like strangle them all!

"Like" ranks right up there with "I seen" or "her and I". Don't they teach grammar in schools anymore? Or is it not politically correct?

Okay, now back to the news.

The other day, I went out to the van to find piles and piles of brown slush on the back floorboard. I said, "WTF?" At first, I thought that maybe one of the kids got back there with mud on their shoes or something. Then I realized what it was...

I had gone to the store the day before and bought a 12 pack of Diet Coke. I forgot to take it in the house. The temperatures got down to the teens, and... wellll, I conducted a little science experiment:

Diet Coke cans + 17 degree temperature = exploded cans

Several of the cans were bulging and ready to explode, but two of them had already blown. The cans looked like someone took an axe to them. It was incredible. I carefully took the remaining salvagable cans into the house to thaw. They were frozen solid, but not bulging. I set them near a heating vent in the entryway and twelve hours later, they were still cold and had ice chips in them.

I hate winter. I never should have moved to a place where winter is in session.

Yesterday was a pretty good day. The kids were well behaved. Evan was glad to get back to school and so was Jameson. I dropped him off and told the lady who came to take him out of the van that it was his only second day and that he might need help getting to his classroom. He memorized his teacher's name, so when he got out of the van, he told the helper, "I'm Jameson. I go to Krause (he pronouced it 'Krooooowwwww-zeeeee')" It was so cute. He looked back and waved at me and said, "I love you, Mom!" I sobbed on my way out of the parking lot.

Griffin and I went to Kohl's to do some shopping. I got a gift card for Christmas and thought I'd browse for a bit to see if I could spend it. They were having an awesome 70% off sale. I bought Jameson a pair of Lee Pipes that were $27 marked down to $8 and an Osh Kosh fleece outfit marked down from $26 to $11. I also bought myself.... a, uh... I bought a, umm...

...another purse!

Hello, my name is Linda and I'm addicted to purses. I can't get enough of them. I needed a new one because all my shit kept falling out of my current one. The flap didn't close all the way over the top and little things like Chap Stick kept rolling out of it all the time. The one I got was so damn cute! It looks like a fat wallet. It's not so big that I'll be tempted to fill it up with junk, but it holds a ton. It's kind of a dark camel color. It was $24 marked down to $16. How could I pass up a deal like that? I couldn't. I didn't!

Well, the kids are all waking up so I better fetch some grub for them.

Like, LATER!

6:05 a.m. - 2003-01-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: