ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weird kids

I think imood should feature obscenities, such as "I'm feeling shitty today!" or "I'm feeling fucked up today!" or my personal favorite, "I wish everyone would go straight to hell and leave me the fuck alone today!"

I'm in a mood. Everything is starting to get to me. The kids being home on cycle break, Kevin being gone racing, trying to keep this house spotless for showings... and the lack of respect I get around here.

The kids treat me like a steaming pile of shit. I discipline - they laugh at me. I threaten them - they mock me. I cry - they make fun of me. I yell - they say, "Oh, I'm so scared!!"

Sarcasm. Wonder where they got that?

They call me names, they hit me, they throw things at me. I adore my children and for the most part, they're good kids. I know they're bored to tears, especially since I don't have the time to do fun things with them anymore. Although... when I do plan something fun for them, they'd rather park their butts in front of the TV. Why is it when I need thirty minutes of peace, they don't park their butts in front of TV?

Yesterday afternoon, I planned something special for my weird kids. I set up the sprinkler for them in the backyard. After slathering them with sunscreen, dressing them in their swimming trunks and taking them outside, I then proceeded to fight for forty five minutes with the demonic sprinkler, who has a mind of its own. It only wanted to spin in one direction - towards the fence (or towards my face). No matter which way I adjusted it, it shot towards the fence. After some choice words of profanity and a good stomping-upon, the sprinkler and I came to a compromise. It would spin in circles. Okay, I would have preferred the "chook-chook-chook-chook-brrrrrrrrrrrr-chook-chook-chook-chook-brrrrrrrrrrrr" but I've learned to pick my battles, especially with lawn care impliments.

After the sprinkler from hell was all set up, I said, "There you go guys!! Have fun!!" and awaited the shouts of glee...

And there they all three sat.

Evan said, "It's too cold. I'll just watch." (It was 96 degrees yesterday, in case you're curious as to just how weird my kids are)

Jameson said, "My leg hurt, I'n go watch a DVD."

Griffin said, "Undadadadaun!" and left to go look through the basement windows.

So guess who played in the sprinkler?

Yep! Fat old, MOM! I put a lawn chair right in the spray and sat fully clothed in the water. It felt wonderful. By this time, all my weird spawn had retired to the family room and were watching a movie.

I changed my wet clothes and sat and watched a movie with them. Incidentally, I forgot about the sprinkler being on and flooded the yard. Seeing this, the rain gods decided to spite the local meteorologists and rain like piss all morning to further saturate my soon-to-be-former lawn.

While on my drive yesterday, I saw that something new is finally going in the old K-Mart building. Our K-Mart, which was less than two years old, went tits up about a year and a half ago and has been sitting vacant and unnattractive ever since. As we speak, it's being gutted and they're putting in a Hobby Lobby! Yay! Something new and different!

Yesterday, we also drove past the hospital downtown where Evan and Jameson were born. I wonder what their return policy is? Nah... I'll keep 'em I guess. They're pretty cute and I didn't save my receipt anyway.

3:54 p.m. - 2003-07-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: