ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A nice visit

I had a nice visit with my grandmother yesterday. My uncle drove her here because she doesn't like to drive long distances anymore. She's 82, so this is probably for the best. She looks gorgeous, as always. She's such a beautiful lady. She was a little stooped over, but still as spry and onery (sp?) as always.

My uncle is 50 going on 12, but seemed yesterday to finally be maturing nicely. He has a steady girlfriend, so this may have something to do with it. I could tell he was crazy about the boys.

Jameson was a perfect little angel. He didn't use one word of profanity and was friendly and interactive. He showed them all his toys. My grandmother was surprisingly aware of who the Teletubbies are. I suspect my thirteen year twin cousins from Alabama are still into them, so she probably knows them that way. Hehehe...

After my grandmother attends my cousin, Ben's graduation from the sheriff's academy, she plans to go back down to Alabama to see Sandy, her son/my uncle/my dad's younger brother. He doesn't have much time left and she wants to be with him up until the end. I can't even imagine being 82 years old and having to sit and watch your child die. She's such a brave and strong woman. My dad is scheduled to go see Sandy next month. I know this will sound horrible, but... I strongly suspect he hopes Sandy passes on before he has to make the trip. Please don't think badly of my dad or of me for saying it, but it's hard to watch someone die. I think I would prefer, since my dad isn't particularly close to Sandy, that he just remember him the way he was.

My twin cousins are Sandy's youngest kids. They're awful, spolied rotten little brats. I suspect they may be mentally challenged, but who the hell knows. They act like they're three years old and treat their parents like shit. Then again... they've allowed the girls to act whatever way they please. I doubt after Sandy dies, that my grandmother will ever want to see them again.

Griffin was shy as can be around Mark and grandma. He was tired, but refused to go to bed, for fear I would leave I guess. He fell asleep in my arms.

Evan didn't get to see them, because he was still in school when they decided to head out. Oh well, that's probably for the best. He and Jameson would've just fought like cats and dogs in front of them.

Kevin left this morning at the crack of dawn for another race. Hopefully, it won't rain and he can come home on time this week!

I plan to spend the weekend getting this place spruced up so that when I call to schedule an appointment with the realtor, it looks halfway decent.

I'm off to fetch some breakfast. It's almost ten and I haven't eaten yet - no wonder I'm so hungry.

Thanks for reading - you guys really are the best!

9:30 a.m. - 2003-06-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: