ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Day at the Fights

I had an interesting day. Kevin arrived home from his racing trip at 7:00am yesterday morning. The kids and I were just waking up as he walked in the door. We decided to go for bagels. I ordered them online, then went to go pick them up.

We got to the bagel place and parked the car. Kevin always parks out of the way, so as to help prevent door dings by inconsiderate and downright stupid drivers. Today was no exception. He parked down at the end of the row of parking spaces and the kids and I waited in the car while Kevin fetched our food. After a few minutes, I hear brakes screeching. I look over my shoulder to see a Walter Knoll florist van backing into the spot next to ours. The driver was driving far too fast for a parking lot, hence the fact that his brakes screeched when he came to a stop. He erratically began to back into the spot and was rapidly approaching the side of my car. I quickly reached over and honked the horn at him. He screeched to a halt again and honked his horn back at me. He straightened out and once again began to back up, equally as close to my car as his first attempt. I moved over to the driver�s seat to verify he was as closed as he appeared to be. I again I honked the horn to alert him to his close proximity to my brand new $40,000 vehicle. Finally, he straighted up and managed to park without hitting my car. My biggest fear, other than the obvious damage that would be done to my car, was that any impact might set off the airbags. The kids were all in the car with me and I was concerned for their safety.

The young driver got out of the van and as he walked in the narrow space between the cars, he glared at me through the window. I asked him, "So were you just going to hit my car?" He said, "I didn�t hit your car, lady!" I said, "Yes, only because I stopped you! If I hadn�t honked, you�d have plowed right into the side of my car!" By this time, the kids had removed their headphones to listen to the fight that ensued... let me preface this by saying, I am not proud of the way I spoke to this jerk in front of my kids. I am a self-proclaimed hothead and I have very little patience for stupidity and incompetence.

HIM: "Lady, you�re out of your mind! I didn�t hit your car!"

ME: "Are you on crack? I never said you hit my car. I said were an inch away from hitting my car and would have, if I hadn�t stopped you!"

HIM: "You have alot of nerve gettin� in my face without your husband around!"

ME: "Would you care to wait until my husband arrives? I�d love to see you get in his face!"

(At this point, the bastard looks as if he�s reaching for my door handle. I checked to make sure the doors were locked.)

HIM: "Yeah you better lock your doors! You�re lucky I�m at work, lady!"

ME: "You better enjoy being at work, because I plan to have your job! If this is how you drive, you have no business behind the wheel of a car!"

HIM: "Lady, I was looking in my mirror when I backed up, I know what I�m doing!"

ME: "I know what you're doing, too. You were backing up into my car. If you were checking your mirrors, then you�d know how close you were to hitting my car."

(I�m not exaggerating when I say he was literally within an inch of hitting the car.)

I kept telling him to go the hell to work and enjoy his job while he could, he kept yelling at me through the car window. Just then Kevin came out and saw how close this son-of-a-bitch was to the car. I got out of the car and told Kevin what was going on ~ that this guy was driving like a bat out of hell, almost hit the car and would have had I not alerted him to how close he was to it. The guy told Kevin the same thing he�d been telling me for ten minutes, that he didn�t hit my car.

*Sigh* I weep for the future. This is my social security!

The guy kept behaving belligerantly and I kept explaining why I was so angry. He simply wouldn't stop antagonizing me. Eventually, he came around to my side of the car and got right in my face. Kevin was stading right there next to me, not saying a whole hell of alot. Finally, I said, "Look asshole, just go back to work and get the fuck out of my face!" He said, "Lady, you call me an asshole again and you�ll be sorry!"

Oh, what a sucker I am for confrontation. That was like dangling a pork chop in front of a pit bull. I looked him in the eye and said...

"Asssssss! Hooooole!"

He took a swing at me. I ducked.

Kevin, who was standing there like a pansy holding bagels and coffee, told the guy, "You won�t be stupid enough to do that again." I wonder what he meant by that? Was he actually going to do something? Finally the stupid prick gave up and went to work. I plan to call the corporate office tomorrow and file a formal complaint.

I�m not a person who sets out to ruin people�s day. I just won�t sit idly by and watch someone carelessly attempt to damage my property and more importantly, endanger the lives of my children. Forgive me. It makes me a tad irked. Wouldn't you be? Espcecially if the violator continued to confront and blame you?

It�s not entirely my fault that I�m this way. I come from a long line of hotheaded, hell raising, loud mouths. I come by it honestly. It�s in my blood.

The bagels were great. We ate them out on the deck while the kids played in the yard. It was the most beautiful spring day.

Not much else going on. Isn�t getting into a fight with a flower delivery guy and almost getting the hell beaten out of me enough? Hmph, I bet I could�ve taken him. He couldn�t have weighed more than 130 pounds...

12:09 a.m. - 2003-06-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: