ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Linda plays an adult

Happy March!

I had a great time at dinner last night. I had forgotten how much I enjoy Larry and Carol's company. They're in their 50s and own an appraisal business.

He and Kevin (Carol, too since she works there) did talk business quite a bit, but I didn't feel left out of the conversation. We talked about alot of other things, too.

We went to Harrah's. We had to wait in line for an hour. When we finally got seated, they tried to put us at a dirty table, which pissed Larry off to no end and he said so. Loudly.

I ate way too much and really enjoyed myself. It was nice not having to:

... cut anyone's food but my own

... pick up thrown sippy cups

... tell anyone to use their "inside voice"

... read every sign, menu item, t-shirt and name tag in the place

... pick up thrown sippy cups

... have food hurled at me

... retrieve toys from under the table

... tell anyone to take small bites

... pick up thrown sippy cups

... tell anyone to turn around and sit down

... have fellow restaurant patrons glare at me in disgust because of the wretched behavior of my children

... pick up thrown sippy cups

and pick up thrown sippy cups. We stayed until 12:30am. They came by twice asking up to "conclude our meal" (getthefuckout), but Larry is quite a chatterbox and we ended up staying an additional hour after their requests. As I suspected, Larry has a business opportunity for Kevin. He even asked my opinion of it all after his shpeil (sp??) and surprisingly, I gave a well-thought, intelligent answer, not:

"I prefer Pampers, because the front panels on Huggies are too narrow making leaks more likely."

I guess I'm not too out of touch with the real world. And my new shoes didn't hurt one bit! Larry and Kevin got into a wallet-thrusting match as to who was going to pay for the meal. Larry won, like he always does. And as always, he said, "You can get it next time." I think it's an extension of a man's cock to pay for every meal when out with friends.

Stephanie called as we were getting our coats from the coat check, wondering where the hell we were. Turns out, they had to get up at 7:00am this morning to go down to Arnold for some damn wedding preparation. She "didn't realize it would be such a late night." Pffft. In other words, the kids were well behaved and she had nothing else to bitch about.

Don't think I'm not grateful to them for being willing to watch the kids, but.... still.

Griffin went right to sleep for her and didn't give her any grief. Maybe April won't be so bad.

I love the Wiggles. I really do. I mean, not just for the kids. I love them. I think their music is awesome. I love some of their older stuff. It has this raw, edgy sound like new wave from the early 80s. Unlike the cutesy stuff you hear on Barney and the unprofessional obnoxious shit you hear on Caillou, this music is really good. If you substituted "Dorothy the red hot, gun-totin' ho" for "Dorothy the dinosaur" You'd have a hit.

I need to go get on with my day. Evan is having a friend over this afternoon. This should be fun for me on four hours sleep. Wish me lu...Zzzz...zzzzz...zz

7:44 a.m. - 2003-03-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: