ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ho hum....

Ho hum... not alot going on around here, but it's unusually silent so I thought I ought to take advantage of it.

Hmmm... here's something interesting! We need a new flapper for our hall toilet! Isn't that the best news you've read all day?

We were able to wash the Envoy last night for the first time. Ever since we got it, we've had nothing but rain and snow. It was absolutely filthy. It looks so awesome clean! I could just stare it it all day long.

This is weird... Evan has a half day at school today. He gets out at 1:15pm. But Jameson, who goes to school in the afternoon, does have school. I don't get it.

I had something weird happen yesterday. Over the weekend, I was looking at some Tony Roper things on ebay. I found a helmet that had been signed by Tony, the late Adam Petty, and some other race drivers. Kevin asked me to send it to a guy he works with named Jeff. Jeff went to school with Tony and is always interested in looking at his memorabilia. I clicked on the "send this auction to a friend" link and sent it on its way. Yesterday, I get this email from Jeff, yelling at me. (All caps) He said, "DON'T EVER USE THIS EMAIL ADDY AGAIN!! YOU DIDN'T GET MY ADDRESS FROM EBAY BECAUSE I USE A DIFFERENT ADDRESS FOR EBAY!!! THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED AS SPAM!!! DON'T EVER WRITE TO ME AGAIN!!!"

Well! Sheesh!

So I wrote back and said, "Jeff, this is Kevin's wife, Linda. He asked me to send you this link because he thought you might find it interesting." I wanted to add something, like "... you asshole" but I held off in doing so.

I then called Kevin and told him to never have me send that fucker anything again. He then sent Jeff an email explaining things further. Jeff wrote back to me and apologized profusely, which he damn well should have. I mean.... duh. First of all, my name came up as the sender. We don't exactly have the most common last name in the world so you'd think he would recognize it. Second, if he doesn't use his work email address for ebay, doesn't that tell him that the link was sent by someone who knows him? Especially if he had bothered to look at it and saw what the item was.

Sheesh.

Something was brought to my attention that I find fascinating and you probably won't. I had never noticed this, but people in southern California (as I did when I lived there) always refer to freeways as "the". You always take the101 to the 405 to the 10.... etc. Everywhere else in the country, you only refer to the number. You take 70 to 270 to 44... etc. not the 70. Funny, all the years I lived in California and all the years I've lived here, I never noticed that! Kevin and my mom both found it fascinating, too. I guess you have to have lived in both places in order for it to be newsworthy.

Well, as you can see, I'm out of news. I'm going to go get my yummy breakfast, consisting of a Slim Fast shake and a half a banana. I hope this diet is worth it.

6:42 a.m. - 2003-03-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: