ibeachalot's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want it to be October 18th...

I don't want to do anything today. I just want to sit around and be lazy. I don't feel like taking a shower or going to Target for cat food. I don't want to straighten this place up or change diapers. I don't want to make the kids their lunch or take out the trash. I want to daydream...

I want to be on my vacation.

I want to sleep in. I want to wake up to the sound of waves crashing to the shore. I want to smell the salty air and feel a cool ocean breeze blowing through my window.

I want to take a shower without the interruption of children fighting. I don't want to march through the house, naked and soapy, to decide who should get the toy over which the aforementioned children are fighting. I want to leisurely get dressed, read a paper or magazine, watch a show that doesn't star talking cartoon worms or crime fighting amphibians.

I want to go to breakfast that someone else cooks. I want to sit at a table without booster seats and not order a meal with a toy surprise. I don't want to cut anyone's food only to have it hurled past me onto the table next to me. I don't want to hear children making toilet humor and screaming to me that child "A" is "no-ing" child "B". I don't want to hear ten seconds later that child "A" is now "yes-ing" child "B". I don't want to strain what little cerebral matter I still possess trying to figure out what the hell that's supposed to mean.

I want to shop without children running from me or fighting with me about sitting in strollers of shopping carts. I want to buy things for ME, not DVDs, toys, candy and $4.00 packages of trading cards.

I want to talk and giggle with my mom, without stopping to reprimand a misbehaved child. I want to complete a conversation without losing my train of thought due to the demands of a child crying or complaining.

I want to go back to my beachfront condo and take a nap. I don't want to have my nap impeded by the protests of children who'd rather be destroying something. I want to wake up when I want, not when someone plows me over the head with an action figure.

I want personal space. I want to be able to sit or walk or lie down without a child pulling me, biting me, hitting me or asking me for more juice.

I want silence.

I want to see my friends. I want to talk about things other than the point value of a Yu-Gi-Oh! card or which child gets which set of headphones in the car. I want to drink adult drinks way into the wee hours of the night, not worrying about having to be home at a certain time or wondering if the kids have brushed their teeth.

I want to fall asleep to the sound and smell of the ocean, not to the sound of a toddler tumbling out of his crib onto his head.

I want to sleep through the night.

I want my vacation to be here.

I can't wait...

11:34 a.m. - 2003-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: